

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

DRAFT MINUTES OF THE OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 7 FEBRUARY 2013 AT THE LANSDOWN HALL, TROWBRIDGE CIVIC CENTRE, TROWBRIDGE BA14 8AH.

Present:

Cllr Trevor Carbin (Chairman), Cllr Nigel Carter, Cllr Tony Deane (Vice Chairman), Cllr Peter Doyle, Cllr Mike Hewitt, Cllr Jon Hubbard, Cllr Peter Hutton, Cllr Christopher Newbury, Cllr Judy Rooke and Cllr Jonathon Seed

Also Present:

Cllr John Brady, Cllr Richard Britton, Cllr Rosemary Brown, Cllr Allison Bucknell, Cllr Chris Caswill, Cllr Ernie Clark, Cllr Richard Clewer, Cllr Christopher Cochrane, Cllr Peter Colmer, Cllr Linda Conley, Cllr Mark Connolly, Cllr Christine Crisp, Cllr Michael Cuthbert-Murray, Cllr Paul Darby, Cllr Andrew Davis, Cllr Peter Davis, Cllr Mary Douglas, Cllr Peter Fuller, Cllr Richard Gamble, Linda Griffiths, Cllr Mollie Groom, Cllr Lionel Grundy OBE, Cllr Brigadier Robert Hall, Cllr Charles Howard, Cllr Chris Humphries, Cllr Keith Humphries, Cllr Tom James MBE, Cllr George Jeans, Cllr David Jenkins, Cllr Julian Johnson, Cllr John Knight, Cllr Jacqui Lay, Cllr Alan MacRae, Cllr Howard Marshall, Cllr Laura Mayes, Cllr Jemima Milton, Cllr Francis Morland, Cllr John Noeken, Cllr Helen Osborn, Cllr Jeff Osborn, Cllr Mark Packard, Cllr Sheila Parker, Cllr Nina Phillips, Cllr Fleur de Rhé-Philipe, Cllr Pip Ridout, Cllr William Roberts, Cllr Jane Scott OBE, Sharon L Smith, Cllr Toby Sturgis, Cllr John Thomson, Brian Warwick, Cllr Bridget Wayman, Cllr Fred Westmoreland, Cllr Stuart Wheeler, Cllr Roy While and Cllr Christopher Williams

56 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received as follows:

Cllr Carole Soden

Cllr Desna Allen

Cllr Chuck Berry

Cllr Peggy Dow

Cllr Dick Tonge (Cabinet member for Highways and Transport)

Mr Neil Owen (Governor Representative)

Dr Mike Thomson (Diocesan RC Representative)

Linda Griffiths (Wiltshire and Swindon Users Network)

Parvis Khansari (Service Director Highways and Transport)

57 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest received.

58 Chairman's Announcements

The Chairman welcomed all to the meeting. Upon request the Democratic Services Officer confirmed the paperwork to be considered as part of the Committee's deliberations. This included the Budget Task Group minutes arising from the meeting held on 25 January 2013 and circulated as part of Appendix 3 to the Wiltshire Council's Financial Plan 2013/14 Update report as a supplementary paper.

59 **Public Participation**

There was no public participation.

60 Explanation of Proceedings

The Chairman drew the members' attention to the report attached to the agenda which outlined the background, purpose and proceedings of the meeting.

61 Wiltshire Council's Financial Plan Update 2013/14

The following were in attendance to present the report on the Council's proposed budget for 2013/14 which included, as an appendix, the draft Financial Plan to be considered by Cabinet on 12 February and Full Council on 26 February.

Carolyn Godfrey (Corporate Director)
Michael Hudson (Director of Finance)
Cllr Jane Scott (Leader of the Council)
Cllr John Brady (Cabinet member Finance, Performance and Risk)

Upon receiving the presentations the Chairman invited questions from members. Details of the main issues raised can be found within the attached report.

Resolved:

To recommend that Council take into account the main points made by the special meeting of the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee as outlined within the attached report when determining the 2013/14 budget.

62 Urgent Items

There were no urgent items for discussion.

63 Date of next meeting

The next meeting would take place on 28 February 2013.

(Duration of meeting: 10:30am to 12:45pm)

The Officer who has produced these minutes is Sharon Smith, of Democratic Services, direct line (01225) 718378, e-mail sharonl.smith@wiltshire.gov.uk

Press enquiries to Communications, direct line (01225) 713114/713115